Misdemeanors, while inherently less serious than felony offenses, can still lead to steep fines and jail time. The state of California classifies criminal offenses according to the severity of the charge, with felonies constituting the most serious charge, followed by misdemeanors and, lastly, infractions. Keep in mind that it is not uncommon for misdemeanor offenses to result in a jail sentence not exceeding six months and a fine not exceeding $1,000.
Misdemeanors & Probation
Violating a California misdemeanor will typically trigger a probation sentence. In accordance with California’s probation laws, a judge may institute a variety of guidelines that you must follow in order to avoid going to jail/returning to jail. These guidelines may include community service, house arrest, electronic monitoring, treatment/counseling programs and/or paying restitution.
Call Hales & Associates, Attorneys at Law Now
If you have any questions regarding misdemeanors in California, please contact the trusted lawyers at Hales & Associates, Attorneys for your complimentary consultation. Having spent more than 20 years representing Murrieta and Temecula residents accused of committing misdemeanors, our skilled legal professionals will help you secure the outcome you deserve.