California follows a “fault” system when it comes to car insurance and the types of remedies available following a car accident. Legally speaking, there are very few restrictions on the options available to anyone injured in terms of pursuing an insurance claim and/or lawsuit against those responsible for the accident. Under California state law, if you’ve suffered an injury as a result of a car accident — either as a driver, passenger or pedestrian — you are eligible to file a claim under your own insurance policy, pursue a claim through the at-fault party’s insurance company and/or file a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver directly.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
California law requires all drivers to carry liability insurance coverage for any and all motor vehicles operating within state lines. Coverage is intended to compensate other drivers and/or passengers for property damage or personal injuries in the event of an accident. The minimum amounts of coverage required by law are $15,000 for injury and/or death to one person, $30,000 for injury and/or death to more than one person and $5,000 for property damage.